Happy quit facebook day!

Hat tip to Dale at Faith in Honest Doubt for reminding me what a clueless dickhead Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg is when it comes to understanding internet privacy concerns.

In his own words:

Having two identities for yourself is an example of a lack of integrity

No, Mark.  Having two identities for yourself is an example of “having a job”.  Would it be great if nobody had to have a job?  Hell, yeah, sure it would.  But that’s not the world you or I live in.  You and I, Mark, live in a world where a Catholic school educator can be fired from her job for ticking “no” on a Facebook poll asking whether or not she believes in God.  Those of us who are not 20-something dot com billionaires spend our time working (or looking for work).  In this world, the more intelligent and interesting you are the more likely it is that keeping your job entails a truckload of make believe.

You go ahead and invite your grandma over for a slide show of your latest XXX leather party.  Give your business associates a running commentary on your gay wedding plans and let the bank handling your debts know where the best mushroom picking is this year.  Who’s going to fire you?  For my part, I’m going to keep deciding for myself who gets to see what.  Just for shits and giggles, I’m going to call it consideration of the differing sensibilities of my friends, business associates and family rather than a “lack of integrity”, but you can call it whatever you like.

Today I changed my privacy settings to ensure that my personal information is no longer spewing all over the shop like blood from a severed kung fu flick limb thanks to Mark Zuckerberg’s thoughtless idealism.  Having a good look at exactly what was being shared without my consent was an eye-opener, to say the least.  For Facebook users, today’s top priority should be to opt out of sharing personal information with applications your friends sign up for.  Sharing my personal information with random third parties attached to my friends turned out to be the default setting, believe it or not.  In light of that bombshell, I went a step further and also deleted all but one of my third party applications (MyBand) out of consideration for the privacy of my friends.

Those who find it tricky to get their head around the “simplified” privacy settings can always just quit facebook like the 25,000 users who claim they’re going to do it today.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Happy quit facebook day!”

  1. Dale Says:

    I can’t believe the guy is so cavalier and stupid about this. Does he use exactly the same words around his grandmother as he does around his drinking buddies?

    Maybe he thinks Facebook has become absolutely critical to human life and will never be replaced by the next big thing if it keeps pissing everyone off? Dream on.

    If I was that stupid when I was 26, someone should have punched me.

  2. apophaticattic Says:

    Dale, I think everybody is a clueless idealist at 26 if pop song lyrics are any indication. Luckily though, most of them aren’t in a position to make sweeping policy decisions affecting the lives of half a billion people. There should be some kind of rule – dot com billionaires under 30 ought to require adult supervision or some sensitivity training vis a vis what the world is actually like.

Leave a Reply

