Where I’ve Been

I haven’t been posting for a while.  The reason for this is that I’ve been promoted.  The new role takes up all my mental energy and then some, but it also gives me an opportunity to influence something I thought was immutable:  a local government’s power to invade the privacy of those who live in the shadow of its authority.

While I’m learning the ropes – familiarising myself with the legislation, case history, policy and culture that directs the actions of the bureaucracy I work for – I don’t think I will have any steam left over for continuing the political aspects of my blog.  These days, my research is all related to my responsibilities at work.

To sum those responsibilities up, in a county with half a million people, I’m the only civil servant investigating and attempting to enforce their legal right to privacy, as well as their right to access and influence the information the government holds on them.

With no legal background and no experience in this area it’s been quite a big job to bring myself up to speed, and I still have a lot to learn.  To be honest, it’s madness that they’ve put a foreign temp without a relevant background in such a role to begin with, but it does demonstrate the lack of concern democratic bureaucracies in general have regarding their obligation to comply with privacy (a subset of human rights) legislation.

Anyway, please consider me “on assignment” for the moment.  I will be sacked when the role I’m in comes up for permanent assignment, because bureaucracies are all about box-ticking and I’m not qualified for my own job.  After this, when I go back to filing,button pushing and long, boring days with little to do (which will be a welcome change), I’ll have a lot to say about the experience, and a lot of advice to give to those who hope to exercise their legal rights of privacy and access to information.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Where I’ve Been”

  1. Raymond Says:

    I think we must admit there was probably one more factor in hiring you. Someone spotted a substantial degree of intelligence.

  2. apophaticattic Says:

    Aw, shucks. 🙂

    In fairness, the total lack of other candidates probably helped more – they searched for weeks to find a qualified person for this job, and when they finally hired a guy (with a suit and all!) he lasted three days and ran, screaming.

  3. Richard Says:

    You may be only one woman, but you obviously care about the issue so much I bet you’d do the work of three or more bored civil servants.

  4. Dad Says:

    Congratulations. Don’t assume they’ll toss you out. It’s amazing how many jobs around me are filled with guys with English, Scottish, Irish and Chinese accents. In fact, I think I’m the only Canadian-born guy on my team.

    It’s a small world. Go for it!

Leave a Reply

